In Chrome

  1. On your computer, open Chrome.

  2. At the top right, click More More.

  3. Click More tools and then Clear browsing data.

  4. At the top, choose a time range. To delete everything, select All time.

  5. Next to "Cookies and other site data" and "Cached images and files," check the boxes.

  6. Click Clear data.

Learn how to change more cookie settings in Chrome. For example, you can delete cookies for a specific site.

In other browsers

If you use Safari, Firefox, or another browser, check its support site for instructions.

What happens after you clear this info

After you clear cache and cookies:

  • Some settings on sites get deleted. For example, if you were signed in, you’ll need to sign in again.

  • If you turn sync on in Chrome, you’ll stay signed into the Google Account you’re syncing to in order to delete your data across all your devices.

  • Some sites can seem slower because content, like images, needs to load again.

How cache & cookies work

  • Cookies are files created by sites you visit. They make your online experience easier by saving browsing data.

  • The cache remembers parts of pages, like images, to help them open faster during your next visit.

Browse in private

If you don’t want Google Chrome to remember your activity, you can browse the web privately in Incognito mode. 

Computer AndroidiPhone & iPad

  1. On your computer, open Chrome.

  2. At the top right, click More More and then New Incognito Window.

  3. A new window appears. In the top corner, check for the Incognito icon Incognito.

You can also use a keyboard shortcut to open an Incognito window:

  • Windows, Linux, or Chrome OS: Press Ctrl + Shift + n.

  • Mac: Press ⌘ + Shift + n.

You can switch between Incognito windows and regular Chrome windows. You'll only browse in private when you're using an Incognito window.

Stop private browsing

Incognito mode runs in a separate window from your normal Chrome windows.

If you have an Incognito window open and you open another one, your private browsing session will continue in the new window. To exit Incognito mode, close all Incognito windows.

If you see a number next to the Incognito icon at the top right, you have more than one Incognito window open.

  1. On your computer, go to your Incognito window.

  2. Close the window:

    • Windows or Chrome OS: At the top right, click Close Close.

    • Mac: At the top left, click Close Close.

What happens when you browse privately

  • Chrome won't save your browsing history, cookies and site data, or information entered in forms.

  • Files you download and bookmarks you create will be kept.

  • Your activity isn’t hidden from websites you visit, your employer or school, or your internet service provider.

Learn more about how private browsing works.

 

If you are still experiencing difficulties, don't hesitate to contact us here.