Any file that is put into a Google Drive trash will be automatically deleted after 30 days. Previously, trashed items would be retained indefinitely until the trash was emptied by the user.
Any files already in a user’s trash will remain there for 30 days. After the 30-day period, files will be deleted and only super admin can revive those files in 25 day period via admin console (source 1)
This change matches the policies of other Google Workspace products and services, such as Gmail. This will help ensure behavior is consistent and predictable for users across Google Workspace products, and will help make sure that items users trash are actually deleted as expected.
Files deleted via Drive File Stream will be purged from the system trash after 30 days. And this behaviour will match the trash policy of Gmail and Shared Drive. There is no impact to Backup and Sync behavior.
We will be showing in-app notifications in Drive starting today and also in our Editors products.
What are file recovery options?
- Admins can restore a user’s Drive data.
- End users can delete and restore files in Google Drive.